PBJ Thumbprint Cookies and more

There are two times of year I am gifted with a reprieve from work. The fall iteration is presently playing out and I have taken the “extra time” to bake something I have been waiting for. These cookies are a wonderful interpretation of a PBJ with all the complexity of flavors, funny as kids I always thought of them as the simplest satisfaction, but they actually are quite complex in palate.

Recipe courtesy of: fromaway.com

Peanut Butter Thumbprint Cookies
Adapted from Oh Taste and See

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 teaspoons granulated sugar, for rolling
  • 2 tablespoons Nutella, for filling
  • 2 tablespoons jam, for filling

Method:

Preheat oven to 375. In a stand mixer, cream the butter, peanut butter, and sugars until smooth. Add egg and vanilla extract and beat until light and fluffy. Whisk together salt, flour and baking soda, then add the dry ingredients into the bowl and beat until a cookie dough forms. Use a tablespoon to portion out golf balls of dough. Roll in sugar and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and while still warm, use your thumb to create an indentation in each cookie which you then fill with either Nutella or jam. Hint: Blueberry jam was a surprisingly wonderful choice!

thumbprint cookies-003 thumbprint cookies-024

Recommendations:

One of my reasons for wanting to make these beauties is because I knew I had a new batch of dulce de leche waiting to be introduced to it. While the jam was a given, the dulce de leche would be a little bit of an experiment, but one that I was sure would not disappoint. This batter comes together beautifully, I think it might have something to do with the quality of the peanut butter. I used Trader Joe’s smooth peanut butter, which is one of my favorites. My standards were applied to this recipe shorting of time and temp. Next time I would like to see what perhaps a little sea or kosher salt might due to them or maybe some chopped nuts! These are a great base cookie and were an immediate hit, my wife even called me out on FB saying she missed my baking. I guess she missed the swooning!

This entry was published on September 21, 2013 at 11:27 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

