Dulce De Leche Cupcakes

One of my favorite things from South America is a product called “arequipe” or as it is more commonly know in the US, caramel. In some circles it is known as “Dulce de Leche”. Being flush with arequipe at present I chose to use it in my next recipe.

Dulce de Leche Bundt Cake
Recipe courtesy of: ambrosiabaking.com
slightly adapted from Food Librarian

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups dulce de leche, divided
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
4 eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F, and position an oven rack in the middle of the oven.  With nonstick-cooking spray, lightly spray and flour a 12-cup Bundt pan.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, and set aside.  In the bowl of a standard electric mixer, combine the butter and brown sugar, and cream until light and fluffy. Once creamed together, add 1 cup of dulce de leche.  Mix well, until all the ingredients are combined.  Add the eggs, one at a time, making sure to fully incorporate each egg before adding the next. Mix in the vanilla extract.

With the mixer on low speed, alternate adding the flour mixture and buttermilk mixture, making sure to begin and end with the flour mixture.  Make sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula every now and then, and mix only until just combined!

Add about 3/4 of the cake batter into the prepared Bundt pan.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup dulce de leche in a ring around the center of the pan.  Evenly distribute the remaining cake batter in the pan, and smooth out the top with a spatula.

Bake the cake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean, about 50-55 minutes.  Allow the cake to cool in the pan for about 20 minutes before carefully inverting onto a wire rack, and allow to cool completely.  Dust the cooled cake with powdered sugar, and serve. Enjoy!

Makes 1 10-inch Bundt cake

Recommendations:
Obviously this recipe was very much adapted. I chose to make this into cupcakes in order to avoid being wasteful. I knew we would never go through an entire bundt cake before it went bad. Hindsight being 20/20 I may have made a mistake. I decided I would halve the recipe for the cupcakes as I did not want to make more than a standard dozen. Of course, half way through the recipe I made a big mistake. I accidentally incorporated the four eggs instead of using two. At this point however, I was what poker players refer to as “pot committed”, meaning there was no turning back. I decided to move forward and not try to correct the error, after all what would too many eggs do?! I soon found out, it curdled my batter some, however as the consummate and modest baker that I am 😉 I proceeded. After incorporating the flour I knew I was going to be fine. I shorted the time in the oven to approximately 13 minutes, as soon as that toothpick came out clean they were pulled from the oven. Absolutely perfectly done, because they were perfectly cooked out of the oven I did not let them cool in the tray. I singed my fingers removing them and transferring to the cooling rack. After completely cooled I topped with a dab of additional arequipe. This dessert was the anchor to my anniversary dinner and it did not disappoint. In the words of my wife “these are the best cupcakes I have ever had”! Maybe I should have made the bundt? I find myself with only enough cakes to shoot for the post, I’m glad to have that many, as the swooning was unstoppable!

This entry was published on October 6, 2012 at 6:56 pm. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

