Pear and Oat Cupcakes/Muffins

Okay, if you haven’t been able to tell by now I have a certain weakness for cupcakes/muffins. In writing this post I asked myself what is the difference between the two. I personally don’t care because either is welcome in my belly, but I was curious. Apparently this one of those questions there isn’t a steadfast answer to. However, the general consensus is that cupcakes have frosting!? Not sure I buy into this definition, but it satisfies for now, and quite frankly, as previously mentioned, I don’t much care as long as they’re good!  I admit I have a weakness for cupcakes/muffins rather than the hassle of making a whole cake which leaves so much leftover, hence, the preponderance of cupcake/muffins on this site. It’s so much more convenient and gratifying once I see all the cupcakes gone! In this spirit I bring you:
Apple and Oat Muffins
Recipe courtesy of: scandifoodie.com by way of tastespotting.com
(Recipe inspired by taste.com.au)

Ingredients:
300g plain flour (you can use wholemeal, if you like)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
50g rolled oats + 2 tablespoons
170g raw caster sugar
2 tablespoons raw vanilla sugar + 2 tablespoons
400g plain yoghurt (pot set, low fat)
2 eggs
100ml olive oil
1 apple, peeled and chopped into small cubes

1. Preheat the oven to 180C and prepare a 12-cup muffin tin.

2. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, oats and sugar together.

3. Whisk yoghurt, eggs and oil in a separate bowl.

4. Add egg mixture to the dry ingredients and fold with a large spoon to combine. Add apple.

5. Spoon the batter in to the cups and sprinkle with left-over oats and vanilla sugar. Bake for about 25 minutes or until a tester inserted in the middle of a muffin comes out clean. Leave to cool on a wire rack before serving.

Recommendations:
This recipe scared me once it began coming together. I made a couple of substitutions, due to the unavailable plain yogurt. I had to replace this ingredient with a combination of sour cream and vanilla yogurt. I figured the consistency would be about the same. My only concern was the vanilla yogurt adding sugar or an underlying taste. Alas, nothing to worry about there! I digress, when whisking the yogurt, oil etcetera I quietly said to myself, “self, this looks really thick”. I thought as soon as the wet ingredients met the dry I would have plaster of paris. Throwing caution to the wind I trusted in the recipe, or something that resembled the original recipe, and incorporated wet into dry and folded slowly. What do you know, it became I nice, albeit lumpy, batter. From my obvious title to this post you can tell that I replaced the apples with pears, why you might ask? Because… That’s it, because. No good reason, call me a kook! Either way the oats and brown sugar instead of vanilla sugar topping finished these off beautifully! By the way, the suggested amount of cooking time for these is like way off, I am not sure if they were using a hair dryer or something to cook their cupcakes/muffins, but mine were done in about half the time. In other words keep a close eye on these and certainly short the temperature. I took these to a family dinner and of course the satisfaction of an empty tray was returned to me, Swoontastic!
*I googled the conversions from grams to western measurements and found this handy site.

P.S. I was inspired by this sign on Pinterest and made my own.

This entry was published on September 14, 2012 at 1:03 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

