Rosemary and Chocolate?!

Yes, as previously mentioned I have been on this savory sweet combinations lately and when I saw this recipe it called out to me. I actually went out of my way to get rosemary which I don’t usually do.

Kim Boyce Rosemary and Chocolate Olive Oil Cake (Cupcakes)

Recipe Courtesy of: enatasa.com

Ingredients

Olive oil for the pan
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (the original recipe called for 3/4 cup spelt flour and 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, but I don’t know how to find spelt flour here so I only used all purpose flour)
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp sea salt
3 medium eggs
1 cup olive oil
3/4 cup whole milk
1 1/2 tbsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped
150 grams chocolate, roughly chopped

Directions

Preheat the oven to 175C and grease a 22 cm tart pan with olive oil
Sift the flour into a mixing bowl, then mix it with the rest of dry ingredients
In another mixing bowl, whisk the eggs thoroughly, add the olive oil, milk and rosemary and whisk again then fold the wet ingredients into the dry, gently mixing just until combined, add the chocolate. Pour the batter into the pan and spread it evenly
Bake for about 40 minutes, or until the top is domed, golden brown, and a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean
The cake can be eaten warm or cool from the pan, or cooled, wrapped tightly in plastic, and kept for 2 days.

Recommendations:

Obviously, the first difference in my adaptation is I made cupcakes. Additionally, I made these when I was invited to a friends BBQ. I really went out on a limb here because this was the first time I tried this recipe and wasn’t sure if my audience would be receptive to the sophisticated palette that are these cakes. I did have to adapt the recipe with regard to the time and temperature, and I am embarrassed to say I ran out of milk and had to substitute almond milk :0 this was a long shot being that I know the flavor and consistency is quite different than cows milk, but oh well! Thankfully I was paying close attention to them in the oven because they were done even before I thought they would be. These brown up beautifully and they have a wonderful rosemary aroma even before you bite them! They are very dense and I am sure would be pared nicely with a small pat of butter. The chocolate is apparent but not overwhelming and that rosemary draws you in for more. The BBQ’ers definitely swooned on their share as the host was only left with two to enjoy.

This entry was published on September 11, 2012 at 2:37 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Rosemary and Chocolate?!

  1. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and from now on
    each time a comment is added I get four emails with the
    exact same comment. Is there a means you can remove
    me from that service? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

