Cheater Cheater Compulsive Eater…

I have been dying to start a post with this phrase. For those of you who may be degenerate fans of the show ‘Friends’ you might remember Ross calling Monica that. Of course this tidbit of information has nothing to do with my submission today. However, I did feel this title was appropriate given the following recipe uses a box of prepared store bought mix! I hear the collective blogasphere cringing at the mention of the use of such atrocities. I could try to convince you of its validity in my kitchen or that it was purchased from Trader Joe’s and therefore would have some redeeming qualities, or that I made the frosting from scratch, but at the end of the day it is a store bought mix. Regardless of this fact I subscribe to the notion that cooking is an art form and artists have to interpret their craft as they see fit, ergo iphone photography, recycled housewares, and the myriad of other applications for mass produced goods. So after that little diatribe I give you.

Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Recipe courtesy of ME (kind of)

1 Box of Trader Joe’s Pumpkin bread mix

Frosting

1 Bar of Cream Cheese

1 Stick of Butter (Softened)

3 Cups of Powdered Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Instructions:

Mix wet ingredients together and whisk until well combined. Place contents of pumpkin mix in wet ingredients and fold in until incorporated. Just be sure not to see any dry mix, should be a dark brownish color. Place cupcake liner in pan and fill them 1/2 to 2/3 of the way up. Place in 350 degree oven for 18-20 minutes depending on your oven.

While muffins are baking cream together the cream cheese and butter. Once incorporated add vanilla followed by powdered sugar added slowly. Be sure sugar is incorporated before adding more. Scrape sides of bowl periodically and mix until all sugar is incorporated fully.

Recommendations:

Now I feel like I need to explain myself. As previously stipulated my life has been very busy lately and I needed to prepare a desert for a dinner party. I tossed and tossed on whether to make these from scratch or use the box of mix which was beckoning me from the cupboard. My wife didn’t help and at one point even suggested we purchase dessert for the dinner! Blasphemer! Taking into account the time I had available and quickly dissipating energy level I gave into the come hither look of that devilish box. I feel as if I am explaining a lurid affair! In any case I did feel I would, at least to a certain extent redeem myself, by making the frosting from scratch. I feel dirty now.

I did substitute milk instead of water, because I just could not bring myself to use water! I also used the nozzle of my pastry bag to make a hole in the muffin and fill them a little before proceeding to decorate them outside. Despite the grievous sins I may have committed and blogged about these came out really nice and there was swooning. Perhaps the leftover Browned Butter Sugar Cookies helped with that as well. 😉

This entry was published on June 29, 2012 at 10:03 pm. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

