Chubby Hubby Bars

If it were not for the allure of chocolate and condensed milk I would not be firing up an oven on a day with 100% humidity. Thus is the life of a dessert addict, self proclaimed of course. To help you all with the same addiction I give you the following:

Chubby Hubby Bars (aka Husband – Loving Oatmeal Cookie Bars)
Recipe courtesy of: whateveryoudo.com
Ingredients

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter unsalted

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cups flour

1 1/2 cups oatmeal quick cooking

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Topping:

14oz can Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 Tbsp Butter

6 oz Milk Chocolate

Instructions
1. Cream brown sugar and butter together until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla, and mix until combined. 2. In a separate bowl mix together dry ingredients. Slowly add in to wet ingredients and mix until combined. Press mixture into a 9×13 lined with parchment, non-stick foil, or well prepped with baking spray.3. Using a double boiler, or a pot with an inch of water and another glass or metal bowl on top of it. Simmer water underneath, and add condensed milk, chocolate, and butter to top bowl. Stir until melted and combined.4. Pour chocolate mixture over bars in prepped pan. Bake at 350 for 12-18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Details

Prep time: 15 mins Cook time: 15 mins Total time: 30 mins Yield: 15 servings

Recommendations:

One of the reasons I chose this recipe this week was due to the simplicity of the ingredients and preparation. Not to mention that I have been leering at that lonely can of condensed milk mocking me in the pantry. Well it met its demise on this day as I was determined to make it my key ingredient. I have seen several variations on this recipe and I can say it can go many ways including adding some more salty goodness as well as separately cooking the condensed milk until it becomes caramel, YUM! I think I will definitely try this next time around. For this recipe however, I recommend waiting until the dish is completely cooled before attempting to cut. This way you have nice clean cuts on your bars. Also I made the executive decision to cut the bars in half. I think they were presented better this way and quite frankly they are very indulgent and filling. As is often the case I shorted the temperature and time, but in this case I found I pretty much had to follow the recipe, as I ended up having to wait a little longer to enjoy the swoon.

This entry was published on May 30, 2012 at 1:50 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Chubby Hubby Bars

  1. Glad you enjoyed them! Thanks for trying them out. Beautiful photo! ~Nicole from orwhateveryoudo.com

  2. hi there! Just wanted to let you know that I updated the permalink to this recipe, so if you wanted to update it as well, I wouldn’t object! 😉 Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie Bars are now at http://www.orwhateveryoudo.com/2011/03/chocolate-oatmeal-cookie-bars.html

Leave a Reply

