Sinful Eggs

One of my many deficiencies, according to my wife, is that I am an egg “killer”. These are my wife’s words not mine. While I prefer to portray myself as an accomplished cook or baker whatever, I realize I have certain limitations. Eggs are one of those, pancakes is another but we will save that for later. Therefore, I am always looking for a way to conquer, albeit temporarily, my shortcomings. To conquer my egg weakness I give you:

 Jean-Georges Vongerichten  Scrambled Eggs

Recipe courtesy of: Bon Apettit

Ingredients

  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, divided
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Kosher salt

Garnish (optional)

  • 1/4 cup heavy cream, whipped to soft peaks
  • 2–4 teaspoons caviar

Preparation

  • Combine eggs and 1 1/2 Tbsp. butter in a small room-temperature saucepan and season lightly with cayenne and salt. Place over medium-low heat and cook, whisking gently and constantly while scraping bottom and sides of pan, until eggs are just thickened, creamy, and small curds begin to form, 3–4 minutes total. (If mixture begins to stick to pan while cooking, remove from heat; whisk gently for 30 seconds, then continue cooking over heat.) Remove from heat.
  • Add 1/2 Tbsp. butter; whisk until melted. Season with salt; divide among small bowls. Top with whipped cream and caviar, if desired.

Recommendations:

The most amazing, creamiest soft scrambled eggs ever! My wife is a self-proclaimed egg diva and she raved about these, therefore I know they are fantastic. I had originally prepared them in the egg as Jean George does, but I don’t typically have caviar in my pantry so as you can see from the image I skipped that garnish as well as the heavy cream. Personally, I don’t think it needs it and decided to present them in these great Saki cups I have, I think they look wonderful. While on the hob be sure that you are paying close attention to the cooking process. My stove is very aggressive and I had to remove the eggs from the hob several times during cooking to not overdue it. As you see the curds appearing you know you are good to go, don’t overcook! Be sure it has that creamy thick consistency, the eggs also continue to cook while plated so don’t worry if they don’t seem thick enough initially. Seriously though, eggs and butter, how can you resist the Swoon!

This entry was published on May 7, 2012 at 1:09 am. It’s filed under Entrees and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

