Strawberry Streusel Bars

Strawberries a plenty. My wife did the food shopping recently and came home with 8lbs. of strawberries. She said “they were on sale, bake something”. Okay, I’m exaggerating but we do have a lot of strawberries in the house now and I can’t possibly make use of them all. In an effort to avoid losing all of them I prepared these:

Strawberry Streusel Bars

Recipe courtesy of: laurassweetspot.com (adapted slightly)

Ingredients
  • 2 1/2 cups (12 1/2 oz) all purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup (4 2/3 oz) sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 18 Tb unsalted butter, cut into 1/2″ pieces and softened
  • 1/4 cup packed (1 3/4 oz) brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 1/2 oz) old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped fine
  • 3/4 cup (8 1/2 oz) raspberry jam
  • 3 1/2 oz (3/4 cup) fresh raspberries
  • 1 Tb lemon juice
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line 9″ x 13″ pan with parchment or spray with cooking spray.
  2. Using stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment, combine flour, sugar, and salt on low speed, about 10 seconds. Add 16 tablespoons of butter, 1 piece at a time; then continue mixing until mixture resembles damp sand, 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Alternately use food processor.
  3. Measure 1 1/4 cups flour mixture into medium bowl and set aside. Distribute remaining flour mixture evenly in bottom of prepared pan, pressing evenly to make a bottom layer. Bake until edges begin to brown, about 14 to 18 minutes. While crust is baking, add brown sugar, oats, and pecans to reserved flour mixture; toss to combine. Work in remaining 2 Tb butter with fingers, pinching to create hazelnut size clumps. Set streusel aside.
  4. Combine preserves, raspberries, and lemon juice in small bowl. Mash with fork until only some berry pieces remain.
  5. Spread raspberry filling over hot crust; sprinkle streusel topping evenly over filling (do not press into filling). Return to oven and baking until topping is deep golden brown and filling is bubbling, 22 to 25 minutes. Let cool to room temperature on wire rack, about 1 to 2 hours.
Notes

Best served the day they are prepared but can be kept covered at room temperature. Will soften slightly.

Recommendations:

Obviously, I changed the recipe slightly to accommodate my over abundance of strawberries. I think it will pretty much work with any berry you might have. These turned out better than I thought given the recipe calls for strawberry jam. I wasn’t convinced that they would be great because I felt they should only have fresh berries. Nonetheless being the first time I tried it I stuck to the recipe and was pleasantly surprised. Next time I think I will take liberties and combine the berries with sugar and cornstarch, macerate them and let the natural juices take over. I think it will be even better. I will suggest if you try this recipe you must have some vanilla ice cream in tow. The finished product begs the “a la mode” topping. If it wasn’t for my recent bought with a stomach virus these would be gone by now. But, now that I am back to normal I am sure the swooning will continue.

This entry was published on April 25, 2012 at 2:01 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

