Cranberry Tea Cookies for Easter

Happy Easter! I know I’m early but this recipe screams Easter and I thought I would be ahead of the curve on this one. This was a bit of a stretch for me as you all know I usually only take on drop dough cookies but this looked so good I had to try it. Good thing I did.

Cranberry Tea Cookies
Makes 35-40 cookies

recipe courtesy of: nightbaking.com

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) sugar
2 tablespoons milk or cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups (10 5/8 ounces) flour
1/2 cup chopped pecans
3/4 cup chopped dried cranberries (sometimes I don’t chop them, which is just fine)
1/4 cup (1 3/4 ounces) extra sugar

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add milk and vanilla and mix. Add flour and salt and mix well.  Stir in cranberries and pecans.

Roll into two logs, each about 8 x 1 1/2″ long.  Wrap in waxed paper or plastic wrap and chill for two hours in the fridge.  (You can also put them in the freezer for 30-60 minutes if you want to move things along, just so it’s firm enough to slice easily while still keeping its shape.)

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Unwrap one roll, and sprinkle it with a little sugar. Use the waxed paper or plastic wrap to sort of roll the cookie log around in the sugar that falls off. Keep rolling, adding a little more sugar if needed, until the log is completely rolled in sugar. (This is easier than rolling each cookie individually.) Slice cookies about 1/4″ thick and place on cookie sheets lined with silpats or parchment. The cookies won’t spread much, so you can place them fairly close together. Bake for 10-12 minutes, checking them after 10 minutes. Do not overbake them. They should look baked (not gooey) and have just a touch of color. You don’t want them to get very brown on the edges or on top.

Recommendations:

As mentioned these are usually not my forte however, this recipe looked so appetizing I had to do it. These, as explained in the recipe, are cut from a log of dough that is refrigerated. I knew these were going to be awesome as soon as I saw the dough come together in my kitchen aid! They looked and felt perfect! I have very few suggestions as the recipe is very straightforward and pretty much covers all the basis. I would add some cranberries to the dough to increase the natural sugars a little. Also, try to cut the cookie dough as evenly as possible. I had my daughter helping me and she was not so careful and some of the cookies were a little over done on one side because of it. Not a huge deal but they are so much more beautiful when cut evenly. I tried to coat the log in powdered sugar thinking I was outsmarting the recipe but it really does call for granulated sugar. Thankfully I had two logs to test on. As soon as I used the granulated sugar you could tell it was going to look great! Be careful of two things, one heed the warning of the recipe and do not over cook these! Secondly, these are fairly small and therefore you might swoon on more than your share! As I did and continue to do. Enjoy!

This entry was published on April 1, 2012 at 1:26 am. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

