All American

I realize chain restaurants are the equivalent of Nosferatu on earth. However, my palette was not always as “refined” or “discerning” as it is today. Those words are just adjectives for a stuck up sense of taste. I acknowledge that but, I realize it makes me more in tune and aware of good quality food. Therefore, if I can try to recreate something that makes me reminisce my youth and make it well, I’m going to try. With that in mind I give you:

The All American

Inspired by Uno’s Pizzeria

Recipe courtesy of ME!

1 Recipe super simple roasted apples (below)

(even though she  doesn’t know it shh!) joythebaker.com

1 prepared graham cracker crust

4 Fuji apples peeled and sliced thin

1 tablespoon lemon juice

3 tablespoons brwon sugar

1 or 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon cornstarch

sprinkling of ground all spice

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons butter, cut into small cubes

Topping: (courtesy of thegingercook.com)

  • 1 1/4 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cups walnuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • A dash or two of nutmeg and apple pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) goat butter, melted (I used regular butter)

Recommendations:

Don’t take pictures of something you can’t keep your hands off of! You will see why at the conclusion of this post.

Now I will allow you to call me cheater, cheater, compulsive eater (Ala Friends), because I will admit to using a pre-made graham cracker crust. However, in my defense I must say I never purchased said crust, it was gifted to me and “you can’t look a gift horse in the mouth”. Also, I hate throwing out food, thus I needed to use it.

For sometime now I have been wanting to make something with apples. Pretty much since I made my Gallette way back when so I came up with this reminiscent little treat.

For this pie to turn out well you must pre-bake the shell regardless of whether it is home made (my preference), or store bought, please do this. It helps to strengthen the crust to hold up to the filling. That being said my crust did not hold up so well and thus the reason for it being photographed in a cup. I believe the All American is also served or was at one time served in a cup. I find the cup helps to meld all that salty sweet gooey creamy deliciousness together. Especially if you took the extra care to warm up the apple pie first! In my case the swoon was inevitable, as you can see by the picture below. Taken minutes after the first picture!

This entry was published on February 10, 2012 at 3:55 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

