Moving the Kitchen

So who in their right mind likes moving!? Wow, fortunately, or not, not quite sure which is better, I have not had the opportunity to move very much. To this end I am not the most learned individual when it comes to this task. Recently my family and I championed this endeavor, let’s just say there is a good reason this is my first post in almost a month!

Anyway more on that topic on machareimages soon.

Today I bring you a taste of Fall. Since Halloween passed me by without a posting I decided to make use of the superfluous pumpkins laying around this box ridden home. I promptly took the largest of the lot and my sharpest knife and decided I would find a recipe to make the best use of it. Here is what I discovered…

Chai-Iced Pumpkin Cookies
(adapted from Allrecipes)

yield: around 3 dozen

Cookies

  • 2 ½ cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp cloves
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup of butter (1 stick), softened
  • 1 ½ cups of sugar
  • 1 cup of pumpkin purée
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Icing

  • 2 cups of confectionery sugar
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 chai tea bag

Preheat your oven to 350°. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt in a bowl and set aside.

In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in pumpkin, egg, and vanilla until creamy, then mix in dry ingredients until well-combined.

If you batter seems a bit soft, stick it in the fridge for about half an hour (I had to do this). When ready, drop tablespoons of batter onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake cookies for 15–20 minutes, or until they begin to have just a hint of golden brown around the edges. Remove from oven and cool complete before frosting.

For the icing: Melt butter in a saucepan and add milk. Steep chai tea bag in the liquid for 5 minutes, then discard. Combine together with sugar, vanilla, and milk, and mix until a smooth icing forms.

Dip the cookies if you have a real sweet tooth, or drizzle the icing over top with a fork if you’d like to dial it back a little. Try to avoid immediately packing a ton of them into a bag in order to deliver them to a friend, like I did. (Big tasty mess!)

Pumpkin Puree

First, preheat the oven to 400°. Cut the stem off the pumpkin. Then, using a large knife, divide pumpkin into quarters. Scrape out pumpkin guts and set aside (don’t toss them out until after you’ve removed all of those tasty seeds!). Arrange quarters in a baking pan and cover with tin foil. Roast for around 35–40 minutes.

Remove pumpkin from oven and let cool for 10–15 minutes. (Or, if you like to scrape the pumpkin out with your grubby little hands, give it 20–30 minutes.) Once it’s cool, begin scraping flesh away from the shell. You can do this with a spoon, but it’s much more fun to use your fingers! Purée pumpkin using a food processor or an immersion blender. That’s it! If you won’t be using it right away, store it in the fridge in an airtight container.

Recommendations:

So after a trying three weeks my best recommendation to all of you is DON’T MOVE! Just kidding in the long run this is certainly the way to go, now back to our cooking.

I seriously made the pumpkin puree from scratch, because I had so much time on my hands!!! That was sarcasm for those that may be oblivious. I needed the time in the kitchen, which my wife won’t step foot into due to it’s present state. However, I found it to be quite comforting in any state.

Anyway, the pumpkin puree was quite simple to make and my daughter and I had a great time removing all the seeds and pulp which we took the time to seperate and later roasted the seeds as well. The pumpkin was easiest to handle when very cool, but be sure to leave the pumpkin in the oven until the pulp turns a dark orange, this is the softest it will get and will be easier to remove from the skin as well as to puree it. That being said, be mindful of the size of the pumpkin you are using as I now have a ton leftover, since this recipe only calls for one cup.

The cookies are insanely easy to throw together and do not skimp or forget about the cloves. I think they are essential to pumpkin recipes and smell and taste like fall, if that’s possible?

While not pictured (I liked these image better) the chai tea frosting was awesome and really easy to make. Somehow either my chai tea bags were lost in the move or thrown out! Luckily I had some instant chai tea which worked very well, I just shorted the sugar in the frosting.

These are best served warm, and today I had some with a cup of chai tea which was like fall overload, but nice nonetheless. I swooned them warm with the frosting and recommend you do the same.

This entry was published on November 7, 2011 at 4:01 am and is filed under Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Moving the Kitchen

  1. mmgarnes on said:

    Yum yum yum yum. Seriously. This looks amazing. Chai + cookies? A mommy vacation.

Leave a Reply

