Fall Fruit – Galette (Fancy Name Easy Recipe)

 

My first Fall post utilizes one of the many fruits of the season. Apples, on a recent trip to the market they were so inexpensive it would be criminal to let them go bad on the market shelf! I brought home a bag full of them, and to my surprise they were going much quicker than I anticipated. Therefore, I had to hurry up and hoard the half dozen or so I needed for this recipe. From the first time I saw this recipe I knew I had to make this. I cheated as is becoming my custom nowadays with everything going on in my personal life, and used premade “empanada” dough. For those of you who don’t know what this is go to your local market and look in the frozen food section where they should have at least a couple of varieties. Goya makes them as well as several other vendors. Which one is better, ehh, unless you make the dough yourself there isn’t too much of a difference. In any case here you go:

Recipe courtesy of:  duhlicious.com

Galettes — No-Top Crust Apple Pie

Ingredients:
– 2 Tenderflake Frozen Deep Dish Pie Shells
– 6 peeled cored and chopped apples
– 2/3 cup brown sugar divided
– 1/3 cup white sugar
– 2 tsp cinnamon divided
– 1 tsp lemon juice
+ ¼ cup white sugar
+ ¼ cup milk

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400’F. In a large bowl, combine apples, sugars, cinnamon and lemon juice. Toss together and set aside. Thaw pie shells at room temperature for 10 to 15 minutes and invert each pie shell onto a lightly floured parchment paper. Using fingers, lightly moistened with water, pinch and press any cracked edges together.

2. Gently roll the pie shell to flatten. Divide the filling among the two pies, and place in the center of the dough. Fold the edges towards the center, and pinch down. Brush the edges with milk and sprinkle with sugar. Transfer parchment sheet onto a baking sheer and bake for 30 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown. Serve warm with your favorite ice-cream.

Recommendations:

As I mentioned earlier I did cheat on this recipe in the interest of time. Therefore, my cooking time was way off. I only had these puppies in the oven for like 10-15 min before they started browning nicely. By the time I pulled them, there was a beautiful golden syrup forming on the tops and spilled over some of them onto the cookie sheet. The empanada dough held together beautifully and it was much easier than I anticipated to actually get the dough to cooperate. I used a tiny amount of flour on my board, you may need more if you home make the dough. The apple mixture really becomes nice and syrupy in the bowl, so don’t spoon it onto the dough so quickly. Let the mixture sit for a little bit to develop that syrup. I spooned a little of the syrup into each one of these and sprinkled some brown sugar to top off the pies, right before placing them in the oven. One area where I did make an error was in leaving the skin on the apple. Peel yours they will be easier to eat. The best accompaniment for them while still warm, is vanilla ice cream! Whoa, my wife had been craving this for a few days and this made her night. They really are awesome and insanely simple, especially if you cheat with the dough! So get some nice vanilla ice cream and fire up the oven, the swooning is about to begin.

This entry was published on October 11, 2011 at 2:41 am and is filed under Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Fall Fruit – Galette (Fancy Name Easy Recipe)

  1. These are adorable – I’ve never thought to make mini galettes before.

Leave a Reply

