Don’t Go!!!

In the spirit of trying to hang on to the last bastions of summer I am trying to use the last affordable strawberries. At the same time I thought I would make something for the kids in my family to enjoy. Therefore, I used a fruit recipe to make some wonderful ice pops!

Recipe courtesy of: smittenkitchen.com

Strawberry Coulis

2 cups quartered hulled strawberries (about 12 ounces)
1/4 cup water
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Combine strawberries, water, sugar and lemon juice in blender. Purée until very smooth, then press through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds. Cover and refrigerate until cold. Coulis can be prepared one day ahead.

Recommednations: This sauce is originally intended to accompany a cream cheese cake, which is delectable, coincidentally. However, the first time I made it my guests were quite literally drinking the sauce! I take it this meant they enjoyed it?! After that I adopted it as a mainstay and once I realized how refreshing it was I decided to make it into ice pops. I ended up using a set of ice pop molds acquired during our visit to the magic kingdom which if you notice come with straws attached to the bottoms for all the drippings, which is awesome! On a recent mildly warm day I de-molded them and prepared to swoon! Oh yeah, the kids liked them too.

This entry was published on September 29, 2011 at 2:08 pm and is filed under Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

