Pies for the Hand – Strawberry

I continue to attempt to hang on to the summer. Since strawberries are still around I decided to use them. I ended up buying two pounds! I am presenting you with one recipe today and saving the other for next week.

Strawberry Hand Pies

Recipe courtesy of: marthastewart.com

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups strawberries, hulled and cut in half or quarters, depending on size
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • All-purpose flour, for work surface
  • 1/2 recipe Pate Brisee for Strawberry Hand Pies
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • Sanding sugar, for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with a Silpat (a French nonstick baking mat). In a medium bowl, add strawberries, sugar, and cornstarch; stir to combine, set aside.
  2. On a lightly floured work surface, roll dough into a large rectangle, about 1/8 inch thick. Using a 5-inch cookie cutter, cut out 6 rounds. Transfer rounds to prepared baking sheet.
  3. Place about 2 tablespoons of the strawberry mixture onto one-half of each round. Lightly brush egg around the edge of the covered half of each round. Fold remaining dough over to enclose, forming a half moon. Gently press edges together to seal. Brush the tops of each pie with egg. Using a paring knife, slash the top of each pie. Sprinkle generously with sanding sugar.
  4. Bake until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer pies to a wire rack to cool slightly before serving. Or let cool completely, and store in an airtight container at room temperature up to 4 days.

Recommendations:

I admit it, I cheated. I usually don’t do this but in this case I simply did not have the time to make the dough from scratch. However, I really wanted to make this recipe and therefore I went a purchased empanada disc from the supermarket. I know there are purists that will chastise me for such and act, but hey I live in the real world where sometimes I simply need to use my available resources. These disc worked out fine by the way. I do want to recommend you NOT skip the egg brushing on the dough it is integral. Also, I would make something to drizzle on top of them when ready, like a simple icing. Also, make sure to watch your pies in the oven I checked on mine 5 minutes before the shortest cooking time and guess what they were done! My wife lost her taste buds for two days due to not waiting long enough to swoon.

This entry was published on September 19, 2011 at 2:02 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

