Uber Moist Honey Cake

So for anyone who has been living under a rock we had some pretty severe weather come through our area recently in the form of “Tropical Strom Irene.” While it seems for the most part in the immediate 5 boroughs we were mostly spared I realize others may not have been so fortunate. I hope all of you and your families were spared any losses and hopefully you can bake them this cake to celebrate your good fortune.

So since I had a significant amount of time in the house this weekend I decided to get a jump start on my future posts. Here you go:

Recipe courtesy of Smitten Kitchen.com:

Majestic and Moist Honey Cake
Adapted from Marcy Goldman’s Treasure of Jewish Holiday Baking

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup honey
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 large eggs at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup warm coffee or strong tea
1/2 cup fresh orange juice
1/4 cup rye or whiskey
1/2 cup slivered or sliced almonds (optional)

Fits in three loaf pans, two 9-inch square or round cake pans, one 9 or 10 inch tube or bundt cake pan, or one 9 by 13 inch sheet cake. I made mine in two full-size loaf pans plus two miniature ones.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Generously grease pan(s) with non-stick cooking spray. For tube or angel food pans, line the bottom with lightly greased parchment paper, cut to fit.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves and allspice. Make a well in the center, and add oil, honey, white sugar, brown sugars, eggs, vanilla, coffee or tea, orange juice and rye or whiskey, if using. (If you measure your oil before the honey, it will be easier to get all of the honey out.)

Using a strong wire whisk or in an electric mixer on slow speed, stir together well to make a thick, well-blended batter, making sure that no ingredients are stuck to the bottom.

Spoon batter into prepared pan(s). Sprinkle top of cake(s) evenly with almonds, if using. Place cake pan(s) on two baking sheets, stacked together (this will ensure the cakes bake properly with the bottom baking faster than the cake interior and top).

Recommendations:

I would like to say that I am not Jewish and therefore did not discover this little gem of a cake until very recently. However, this is the second time I have made it and it is awesome! I halved the recipe for this time around because in its original state this recipe makes A LOT of cake and I didn’t think I would go through it. In hindsight it might have been better to make the whole recipe because I find myself with one piece left! Any who, some substitutions, really not many however, I did use tequila instead of the whiskey or rye they suggest, what’s rye anyway? In any case I find that decent tequila has a nice aroma and can easily be used in such a recipe. I have only used coffee for this recipe therefore I cannot comment on how strong tea would work, but I can attest the coffee works wonders (and I don’t even drink coffee, shhhh!).This cake as the title states is uber moist and spongy and not too sweet at all. If you really want to get crazy make a simple glaze from confectioners’ sugar and drizzle on top, damn why didn’t I think of that before I inhaled this thing! Guess I’m going to have to make another one, hehe. Seriously, the bunt mold I used was perfect and because this cake is so moist you cannot, must not skip the non stick cooking spray in the mold. If you fail to do so you will have a crumbly mess on your hands and you will find yourself swooning out of the cake pan!

This entry was published on September 2, 2011 at 10:00 am and is filed under Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Uber Moist Honey Cake

  1. hi. just heard about your blog while having dinner with alexa before. the food looks yummy!!! hope i don’t have too many parent conferences so i can keep on reading. i love to cook and i’m sure i’ll try some of your recipes soon. please tell alexa it was great to see her. thanks, louanne

Leave a Reply

