Bread Pudding

 

Friday Swoon Blog post 06/24/2011:

So after the debacle with Foodie Friday I have decided to migrate my blog here. It is separate and independent from machareimages.wordpress.com and the aforementioned Foodie Friday will be laid to rest. The reasons are too numerous to list and I would prefer to not go on some diatribe as to why I needed to change it so here we go.

This week I made my World Famous often imitated but yet to be duplicated (not for long) –

Caramel Croissant Bread Pudding

I claim this as the cornerstone of my food preparation accomplishments and it has garnished the most positive feedback by far in comparison to my other dishes. So for all of you who have asked me for this recipe, here is my gift to you!

Recipe courtesy of Nigella Lawson by way of Cooking Channel:

Ingredients

  • 2 stale croissants
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons bourbon
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Tear the croissants into pieces and put in a small gratin dish; I use a cast iron oval with a capacity of about 500ml/ 2 cups for this.

Put the sugar and water into a saucepan, and swirl around to help dissolve the sugar before putting the saucepan on the hob over medium to high heat. Caramelize the sugar and water mixture by letting it bubble away until it all turns a deep amber colour; this will take 3 to 5 minutes. Keep looking but don’t be too timid.

Take the pan off the heat and add the cream – ignoring all spluttering – followed by the bourbon and milk. Whisk to mix, then still whisking add the beaten eggs. Pour this quickly over the croissants and leave to steep for 10 minutes.

Place in the preheated oven for 20 minutes.

Recommendations:

Make at least two of these!!! I have made this recipe more times than I can remember and I have yet to make enough! I have even taken the liberty of adding an additional croissant to the recipe in the hopes that it might stretch the volume, but that just makes it go quicker. Don’t get too hung up on the stale factor for the bread I have used fresh croissants and it has yet to stifle anyone from devouring it. The only other deviation I have made is the liquor when bourbon is unavailable I use other strong flavored liquors (i.e. Scotch Whiskey, Tequila etc.)

The hardest part of the entire process is adding the milk and cream to the caramelized sugar, you must do this slowly especially at the beginning to avoid the sugar from clumping due to the temperature change. However, I have made this mistake and it does not seem to affect the end product significantly.

This recipe is simple and straightforward and that’s what makes it so awesome!

Swoon away!

This entry was published on June 25, 2011 at 3:02 am and is filed under Desserts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

