Truly “The Best” Blueberry Muffins

I have been wanting to make these for three weeks now. I finally found a reason to make them when my family decided to host an impromptu Oscar’s Party. I’m a huge movie fan and strive every year to watch every single nominee. This year I fell a little shy of watching all of them and as of the date of this post am still getting through the list. Nevertheless, baking cannot wait!

Best Blueberry Muffins

Recipe loosely adapted from Cook’s Illustrated May/June 2009

Yields 12 Muffins

Ingredients:

4 Tbs unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

2 1/2 C unbleached all-purpose flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp kosher salt

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1 1/8 C sugar

2 large eggs

1/4 C vegetable oil

3/4 C milk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1pt. FRESH blueberries, washed and picked over

Directions:

Preheat oven to 420F

Adjust oven rack to upper middle position. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners and set aside.

Whisk flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt together in large bowl.

Whisk sugar and eggs together in medium bowl until thick and homogenous, about 45 seconds.

Slowly whisk butter and oil until combined. Blend in milk and vanilla until combined. Fold egg mixture and blueberries into flour mixture until just moistened. (Batter will be very lumpy with few spots of dry flour, DO NOT OVERMIX) [The kiss of death]

Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups, fill cups and mound slightly.

Bake until muffin tops are golden and just firm, 18 to 22 minutes, rotating muffin tin from front to back halfway through baking time. Cool muffins in muffin tin for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack and cool 5 minutes before serving.

*Special Note: I like to give those responsible credit when due. But apparently the site I obtained this recipe from has since gone the way of the dinosaur. In any case I want to say thank you to the now defunct platedlife.squarespace.com.

Recommendations:

I have a fear. Any recipe that specifically states “DON’T OVERMIX” immediately initiates heart palpitations. This stems from my inability to make a decent pancake (story for another post). As I was minding my business and started this recipe I had not realized the dreaded phrases presence until I was “pot committed”, which meant there was no turning back. With no other option I pushed forward and decided to face my fear head on. Sometimes you surprise yourself with what you can accomplish getting past your fears. Wow, these muffins are amazing, cakey texture the fresh blueberry blast, fantastic! They also brown beautifully and as you can see above, are as photogenic as anything I’ve ever made. If you don’t have fresh berries ,don’t use frozen, opt for something else like chocolate chips or the like. I feel the best combination is some sort of berry however, so raspberries or blackberries would also compliment this recipe wonderfully. Having several people over for dinner I had to part with the bulk of my beauties, but that’s why we cook, right? The table swooned them and even took some for the road! I think this officially makes them a triumph.

This entry was published on March 2, 2012 at 8:57 pm. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Truly “The Best” Blueberry Muffins

  1. Nat on said:

    Nice recipe :) I love blueberry muffins… Such a great snack.
    Here’s another recipe you might like.

    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/recipes/blueberry-muffin-recipe/

    Thanks for sharing.
    Nat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

