The Honey Walnut Cookie

I think I have mentioned it previously that I love honey. I like to believe it is a healthy option to granulated sugar, which I am not certain of, but it makes me feel better nonetheless. I often find myself short on honey, and looking for recipes that incorporate it. I also love the taste it gives foods and drinks (especially my favorite Chai).  Hence, this recipe.

Honey Walnut Cookies

Recipe courtesy of bakingbites.com

1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup brown sugar (pref. light)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar.
In a small bowl, whisk together oil, honey and vanilla extract. Pour into flour mixture and stir until almost combined. Add the walnuts and stir until walnuts are well-distributed in the cookie dough.
Shape into 12 rounded balls (approx 1-inch balls) and place onto prepared baking sheet. It is easiest to shape this dough with your hands or with a small scoop.
Bake for 10 minutes, until cookies are lightly browned around the edges.
Cool on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes one dozen cookies.

Recommendations:

My daughter decided she would like to help me with the making of these cookies. I saved her for the step I expected would be the most fun for a kid to participate in, the balling up of the dough. When everything was brought together and called her over to help in forming the dough balls. It was so funny to see the difference between the ones I made and hers. Her small¬† hands obviously produced small dough balls and thereby small cookies. I have to say I prefer the size she made thus the image provided. I have to mention in forming the dough balls this recipe, I believe due to the lack of butter, basically needs to be pressed together to form the ball rather than “balled” up. It might take a little more effort but nothing to be concerned about. Once again, easy peasy lemon squeezy recipe, but with the added benefit of no butter! I was short on butter (yes, I need to go to the market) and therefore needed to come up with something that could circumvent this issue. These cookies are awesome, you don’t miss the butter at all. They are sinfully soft and full of that honey flavor I so adore. Be mindful they do not change color much in the oven so be careful not to over bake. Unfortunately the yield on these is short, even with my daughter making them small these things disappeared like nobody’s business. The first one burned my mouth as usual because I was not patient and had one almost straight out of the oven. Swoon with a cup of hot Chai or your favorite warm drink.

This entry was published on February 18, 2012 at 1:49 pm. It’s filed under Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Honey Walnut Cookie

  1. I like the simplicity of the ingredients. I am sure these cookies taste very good! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

