Ode to Peanut Butter

Okay, so I love peanut butter! Why, maybe it’s because it’s the perfect combination of saltiness and sweet or maybe it’s because it goes so well with so many things. However the health conscious side of me likes it because it fills you up in a heartbeat! Since my wife has been hounding me for “good” chocolate chip cookies, I have decided to combine our wants. This recipe uses both ingredients very well and adds rolled oats, which we also enjoy very much. Basically, if you love Reese’s Pieces, these cookies are for you. You already know how much I love drop dough cookies and these are a perfect example of that.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe courtesy of : Brown Eyed Baker by way of the-girl-who-ate-everything.com

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

3. On medium speed, cream together the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat to combine. On low speed, gradually add the flour until just combined. Stir in the oats, and then the chocolate chips.

4. Use a large cookie scoop (3 tablespoons) and drop dough onto prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 9-10 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly golden. Cool completely on the baking sheet and then store in an airtight container at room temperature. Makes 16 cookies.

Recommendations:

I have been struggling with my new oven since we moved into our new space. It’s been very frustrating, but with these cookies I think I finally figured it out! It seems my current oven is much stronger than my previous one or maybe it just heats up differently not being a convection oven. Anyway it seems I have to short the time and temperature on everything I make for it not to burn or over cook. We all know how detrimental over baking can be to a dessert or anything for that matter. So I played special attention after feeling I had finally figured out this oven and frankly being tired of throwing out perfectly good food that had been over cooked. I cooked mine at 325º for 8 minutes, and Viola (pronounced Voila)! The recipe came together easily and looked great. I used my trusty Trader Joe’s peanut butter as usual and found a use for the 4 bags of semisweet chocolate chips I found on sale at the market! No, I didn’t use all 4 bags in this recipe. My batch made two dozen large cookies, which were gone in no time at all! We did share with some of my wife’s coworkers, but the rest were swooned by her and I alone!

This entry was published on February 4, 2012 at 4:02 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

